7TaEkbLTA

Finding My Roots Continued Finally-

Week 5

That night as I laid in bed my phone dinged.

“Whose texting you at this time?” My husband asked as I looked at the the clock.

“I don’t know?”

I grabbed my phone and was surprised to see that it was Paula. She had read my message I had sent her on messenger and had written back.

“Oh my gosh honey, look!” I showed him my phone.

“That’s great Kelly. Are you going to answer her back?”

“Yes, of course silly! She wants me to know that she is still processing everything but since I leave on my cruise tomorrow with Jen, she wants me to have lots of fun.

Scott leaned in. “What are you going to say to her?”

I started typing.”Um…that she can take all the time she needs to process things. I’m not going anywhere except on my cruise tomorrow. Haha.”

My phone dinged again.

“Wow, she can’t believe how much I look like her. She wants to know what color my eyes are and what my favorite color is. And she is worried that she is keeping me from packing.’

Scott laughed. “She doesn’t know you yet, if she did, she would know you packed a month ago.”

Rolling my eyes at him I began typing a reply. “Purple, eyes are green and no I’m completely packed don’t worry.”

I waited to see if my phone would ding again. A few more minutes went by and it remained silent. “I guess that’s it for tonight.”

My husband smiled at me.”It’s a good start right, more than you hoped for.”

“Yeah.”

Another ding had me snatching my phone off the nightstand. “She wants to know if my family was supportive when I got pregnant as a teen? Also if I’m close to my adopted mom?”

Scott let out a deep breath. “Both are pretty big questions.”

I stated to type back my response, not sure exactly how to answer either question really. On the one hand, I didn’t want her to feel bad for me and on the other hand I didn’t want her to think bad of my parents. How does one respond in a text to that?

Another ding made me smile. She asked if she could call me.

I said. “Sure.”

Read more next week

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

