Part 4

trees

6So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, 7rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.” Colossians 2:6-7 (NIV)

 

My hands shook as the phone rang. I took a deep breath trying to calm my nerves.

“This is Paula.”

“Hi, um … my name is Kelly.”

“Yes, Henry said you called and had gotten my name from some form from the state? What kind of form?”

“Um… a birth certificate.”

“That’s weird.”

“Does February 10th, have any meaning for you?”

It was so quiet on the other side of the phone I wasn’t sure if she was still there until she said, “Maybe, what year?”

“1976, I was born at St. Luke’s hospital in Denver.”

“Okay.”

“My birth certificate say’s I was born to a Paula Sue Fabrizius.”

“Okay, what did you say your name was?”

“My name is Kelly Sumner”

“And how did you find me?”

“Well the law changed and starting this year all adopted children born in Colorado have the right to access their original birth certificate.”

“Okay.”

“Do you have a smart phone?”

“Yes, why?”

“I want you to look me up on Facebook right now.”

“Okay, but I don’t see how …”

“Just do it, I promise it will help.”

I gave her the spelling of my name and waited as she typed it in. When I heard her cry out I knew she could see my picture. Tears were flooding my eyes.

“You look like me.”

“Yes, I know.”

“Can I get your information, this is a lot to take in and I’m in shock I think.”

“Yes, I give you my home and my cell number. You can call me anytime.”

“I just need some time to process this all.”

“I understand, take all the time you need.”

After I hung up with her, I didn’t know if I would hear from her again or if she would contact me the next day. I had no choice but to trust in God.

Look for what happens next in Finding My Roots Part 5 Next week

