Part 3

I couldn’t sleep that night, I kept checking my Facebook account to see if Paula had responded to my message in the messenger apt. She hadn’t opened it yet. I wondered if she was tech savvy or like some of my other older friends shied away from technology. What if she didn’t know what messenger was? A million thoughts raced through my mind as I read and reread what I had written to her. Would she like it? Was it everything I could have said or should I have sent it to my writing friends for editing?

The next morning in my prayer time I asked the Lord if there was something else I should do? It wasn’t until later that day that I felt led to look up in the white pages on line if she might be listed and was surprised to find that she was.

Without thinking I picked up the phone and dialed the number.

“Hello.” A man’s voice came through the ear piece.

Surprised I looked at the phone, had I actually dialed the number? “Um. . . hello is Paula there?”

“No, she’s not home from work yet.”

“Oh, my name is Kelly, she doesn’t know me. When will she be home?”

“She doesn’t know you?”

“Well no. . . not exactly, but she is going to want to talk to me.”

“Okay, who are you?”

“My name is Kelly, but I don’t know how much I can tell you, because I don’t know if she told you about me.”

“I see, and how did you get her name?”

“On a paper from the state.”

“What kind of paper?”

“Um. . . I’d rather not say.”

“Well, she is going to be home around 7:15-7:30.”

I smiled into the phone. “Great, I’ll call back, thanks.”

When the line went dead I hung my head. What was I thinking? He must think I’m nuts. I watched the hands on the clock tick by, there was no way I was going to call before 7:30 now.

Finally, the clock said 7:30, I picked up the phone again. I quickly prayed a silent prayer for courage as I dialed the number again.

“Hello” the same voice answered.

I swallowed past the lump in my throat. “Hi, it’s Kelly again is Paula there now?”

“No, she’s still not home.”

My heart sank. “Oh okay.”

“How did you get this number?”

“I looked it up in the white pages on line?”

“And you said you got her name from the state?”

“Um. . . yes.”

“Okay, well I’m going to give you her cell phone number, its …”

“Oh, thank you. Have a good night.”

I glanced down at the number I jotted down and began to dial it.

Look for Part 4 next week

