Part 2

treewithroot

“That person is like a tree planted by streams of water,
which yields its fruit in season
and whose leaf does not wither—
whatever they do prospers.”

Psalm 1:3 (NIV)

I had a name to go by for my mother. In today’s age with social media could it be so easy just to type in her name on Facebook and see if she pops up? Why not, what could it hurt to see? I slowly typed in her name, wondering if she was married now, 40 years was a long time. When an image of a woman popped up. It was hard to doubt what my eyes were seeing, the same teeth, nose, and shape of the face. I dared to hope that this could be my mother, but still held back a little. I didn’t know what to do, I decided I could send her a message on Facebook. If she replied maybe that might open the door.

A million things ran through my mind, what do you tell the woman who gave you life?

Here is what I wrote:

Hi Paula,

My name is Kelly and I live in Thornton CO with my husband of nearly 20 years and our two children Michael 15 and Elizabeth 13. I’m sure you are wondering why I am telling you this, I know a little strange. A few days ago I turned 40, actually yesterday. Please don’t panic, I haven’t reached out to tear apart your life. I too, understand what giving up a child for adoption is like. Only I was 17, and I was able to pick open adoption. I nearly died having my first son, and it was only by the grace of God that he and I both made it. He will be 23 this May, time does fly. His mother and I coauthored a book that is coming out this year on adoption. Ironically, I went through the same agency as you. Most of my life, I’ve thought about you, and always hoped I’d get a chance to thank you for giving me life. I realize you could have aborted me and I’m grateful you didn’t. I also realize, having been in your shoes that you might think I’d never forgive you for giving me up, but I do forgive you. You gave me life and a chance to live it, thank you.

I wiped the tears that streamed down my face as I pushed send. It was in God’s hands now.

 

Look for Part 3 next week.

 

 

