Part 1

500_F_102016867_P7BoMc43eqmxKeIsTTY2lQQEJVoTtin8

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the Lord,
whose confidence is in him.
They will be like a tree planted by the water
that sends out its roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
and never fails to bear fruit.”

Jeremiah 17:7-8

This year I turned 40 and it’s been a really unique year so far. I live in Colorado, so when my mom told me that our Governor had passed a law that anyone that had been adopted in the state of Colorado had the right to get their original birth certificate starting January 1st of this year, I thought that’s interesting. After years of fearing rejection, I had gone back and forth on the issue of trying to find my biological parents, but I decided what the heck, I’m going to go ahead and file the paper work to get my birth certificate.  No matter what people say, finding one’s roots does matter. Anyhow, the paper work said it would take 30 days to process and so I sent it off Jan 8, 2016 and that was it. My birthday was the next month and I wondered if I would get the information by it, but didn’t really care either way. The day after my birthday, FedEx delivered me an envelope with a sheet of paper inside.

My hands shook as I laid it on the table and stared at it. I knew opening it could possibly change my life forever. I also knew, that it could lead to disappointment, what if my mother had only put Jane Smith or John Doe? I had been warned by others not to get my hopes up in finding answers just from my birth certificate.

I grabbed my phone and dialed my best friends number. I had promised to call her when it came and knew she would be standing by.

“Did you get it?” she asked before it had a chance to ring.

I bit my lip. “Yes, I have it, but I’m a little nervous now.”

“Hey, we talked about this. No matter what it says it doesn’t change who you are.”

I laughed into the mouthpiece. She always knew just what to say. “You’re right, okay here we go.”

I snatched the envelope and yanked open the tab.

“Well. . . what’s inside.”

A slip of paper slid out it had some writing on the side. I looked inside the envelope sure there had to be something else. “It’s just a piece of paper, I thought it would be more official.”

“Your killing me here! What does it say?”

“Hold your horses, I’m looking already. Child’s name is left blank. I guess she didn’t name me. Mother’s name is Paula Sue F…… and Father’s name is Robert G………. It shows her address at the time.”

“Wow, that is fantastic, you have a name to go by.”

“I know, I can search my roots now and my heritage, even if it only leads me so far.”

“I’m so happy for you Kel.”

“Thanks Jen, this is the best birthday present I could wish for.”

“What are you going to do next?”

“I don’t know. Pray and trust God.”

 

Look for Part 2 next week

 

