Teen pregnancy is frequently an unplanned event. This post is an encouraging one for families.

“She’s pregnant, Carole,” My grammie said to my mother as I prayed this wasn’t really happening. I can still remember the look of devastation written all over my mother’s face when I told her the news. I was 13 weeks pregnant, and I still had my senior year of high school to finish. As I sat on the couch, praying the floor would open up and swallow me, my mama walked out of the room whispering, “I thought I raised you better than this.”

My mother was filled with dread and worry as she tried to process the news and grieve the dreams she had for me. At the same time, I was trying to adjust to the idea of high school and motherhood. Being a teenager and not emotionally mature, I was scared that the father of my baby wouldn’t be there … and what about college? What about the rest of my life? Click here to read the rest of the article.

Kelly

