Tone is the topic for today.

 

I’ve written enough now to realize that there’s been a pattern in not only what I write, but in how I write – no, I didn’t get the Tread Desk I’ve had my eye on for some time-I’m referring to that somewhat elusive tone. At the end of my first year as a middle school teacher, I gathered with all the other (much more seasoned) teachers to score the school-wide essay contest. One of the pesky ten areas to receive a score was TONE. How could I judge what I didn’t understand?

Flash forward more years than I want to admit. I’ve since attended many conferences where I’ve benefited from classes, and my work has been picked apart by professional writers and editors. I’ve been a part of talented writing groups and critiqued one-on-one with people who study the craft and take it as seriously as I do. I now understand what tone is-and how it can have such a huge impact on story.

And on life. Click here to read the rest of this interesting article.

Kelly

