A Faith Tested, Part Seven

A couple more days had gone by and there was still no word from the adoption agency and I wrote the whole thing off. It was my first day back at school and it was business as usual when I got paged that my husband was on the phone.

I was surprised that he was calling while I was in session. “Hi Art, I’m in class. Can I call you on my lunch hour?”

“You’re going to want to sit down.”

My heart started pounding, as images of my parents went through my head. “What’s wrong? Is it my parents?”

I could hear him chuckle. “Oh no, nothing like that. You just need to get a sub.”

My eyebrows rose “I do. Why?”

“Cause you are taking maternity leave for the next eight weeks.” He laughed happily.

“What are you talking about?”

“The adoption agency called, we have a son. The mom walked away, he’s ours honey!”

I was laughing and crying at the same time. My students looked at me in wonderment.

As soon as I hung up with Art, I called down to the office and told them I had an emergency. They quickly sent someone down to take over my class for me. I ran to the principal’s office and told her the news. She assured me that somehow they would find a sub. They had all been there with me during the past three years of infertility and failed adoptions and they couldn’t have been happier.

I called Art from my cell on the way home. He was going to meet me there and then we would go to the adoption agency. I cried and prayed the whole drive home.

Susan was waiting for us once again when we arrived at the agency only this time her smile was like a thousand watt bulb. Before we had even gotten out of the car completely she rushed over to us.

“Congratulations you two!”

“Thank you Susan. To tell you the truth I thought today would never come.” I said hugging her.

“I know, and I’m so sorry about that.” She hugged me tighter. “Let’s go pick up your son, shall we?”

“Oh yes.”

We drove over to cradle care and there he was. So tiny and perfect, I couldn’t have asked for anything better. God had given us a child and he was ours. It wasn’t until a few days later that I found out that he was the child my mom had told me about. The entire hospital where she worked had been refereeing to him as our child. My mom had even spent her breaks going to the nursery to hold him, hoping that he would be her grandson.

My faith had been tested through this whole experience and I think that God knew I had questions about it. Several years later when I was at work, I saw a woman walking her two children to school. She looked familiar but I couldn’t place her. It was as she got closer that suddenly I knew who she was. It was Christine, the birth mother that had changed her mind twice. Her children were attending my school. I think in that moment, I knew why God had not let that adoption go through. I don’t know if I could have seen her each day if I had adopted her daughter.  God had answered my prayers and I would forever be grateful. I was a mom and that was all that mattered, the rest was history.

 

Kelly

