A Faith Tested, Part Six

After another month went by, Art and I decided that maybe we should just stop. We were still paying the adoption agency each month, trying to pay off our twenty thousand dollar fee, and with each failed adoption we lost hope. We prayed every day that we would get a call, but at the same time hoped that we didn’t.  School was going to be starting again in a couple of days and I was looking forward to the distraction.

I know my parents and friends were worried about me, but they kept their distance to give me space. It wasn’t too surprising when my mom called me that day. I figured she was just checking in with me.

“Hi mom, I’m fine don’t worry.” I said before she could say anything.

“Did the adoption agency call you?” Her voice was anxious and a little unusual.

“What no hi honey, how is it going?” I joked.

“Did they call?” she asked more persistently. I could hear hospital chatter in the background.

“No, they haven’t.” I replied.

My mom is a nurse for an OB in Denver and usually doesn’t call me from work, but she was all worked up about something.

“Why Mom? What’s going on?”

“We have a baby that was born a couple of days ago. The mom walked away and social services has been in touch with your adoption agency.”

My heart stopped. “What does that have to do with me?”

I could hear her crying through the phone. “It’s your baby honey, I know it. They are trying to get a hold of you.”

Trying to contain my emotions I ran my fingers through my hair. “No one has called Mom, I think you’re mistaken.”

“No, I’m telling you …”

I could hear the beeping of her pager. “I have to run honey, let me know as soon as you hear anything.”

“Okay mom, don’t hold your breath though.”

After she hung up, I sat there looking at the phone in confusion. I couldn’t allow myself to even hope that she might be right. Art and I had already decided that this would be our last month of paying the adoption agency; it was too much for both of us.

I didn’t tell Art about my mom’s phone call that night. We were going on with our lives and it seemed so farfetched that I didn’t want to get his hopes up.

 

To be continued….

Kelly

