A Faith Tested, Part Five

I swallowed the flutter in my throat and said nothing.

“Christina changed her mind again and wants us to come and get the baby now.”

I could feel the flutters in my stomach, the rest of my body had gone numb. “What?”

He took a deep breath, slowly exhaling it. “I told Susan we were in Florida, she advised us to fly home today if possible.” He sighed keeping his eyes on me. “What do you want to do Rhonda?”

I pressed my hand to my heart and felt it pounding. “I don’t know, what do you think?”

“I can call the airport and see about changing our flight?”

“Okay, yes! Let’s go home and get our baby.”

We flew home that night. It was too late to go to the adoption agency, but Susan promised to meet us there first thing in the morning. We didn’t sleep much that night and rose early again the next morning. When we arrived at the adoption agency, Susan was waiting for us as promised. The baby would be brought over to the agency once all the paperwork was signed.

We chatted nervously for a while as we looked over the papers. This was it, our little girl would be here soon. When the phone in the office rang we thought it was the receptionist letting us know the baby was here. Susan left the office only to return a few minutes later empty handed.

My heart began to beat faster as I studied her face. She walked towards me and gently placed her hands on my shoulders. “Rhonda, I’m so sorry …”

The tears began to fall. “No, you can’t keep doing this to us.”

Art ran over to me and put his arms around me. “We flew back from Florida last night; you said she wanted us to have the baby.” His voice was angry.

Shaking her head Susan wiped the tears misting her eyes. “I know, I don’t know what happened. She changed her mind once again today. I’m so sorry.”

Still crying, Art and I walked out of her office without saying another word.

 

To be continued….

Kelly

