The YoYo Effect

Have you lost weight and then turned around and gained it back plus maybe a little more? I have been there, believe me, I’ve tried all the fad diets, Southbeach, Adkins, Soup, Green Tea, Weight Watchers, Jenny Craig, etc. Yes, there is actually a soup diet.

What I’ve come to realize is that no matter what diet I tried, it wasn’t a quick fix. I have friends that have done the by-pass surgery or the lap band and lost weight right away and after time gained it all back. Why? I can only speculate and tell you about my experience and hope it helps.

Why it didn’t work for me was because my mindset wasn’t there. What I mean by that is that instead of looking at each diet as a temporary fix, I need to look at it as a total life style change. My bad eating habits got me into this mess and if I try to go back to them I will be in the same boat once again.

As heavy as I was, I hated myself. I hated getting my picture taken and I hated looking at myself in the mirror. It came to a point that either I fight for my life and take it back or I let my addiction kill me. I don’t say that lightly, everyone around me was scared for me and worried about me. They had to tiptoe around the subject of weight though, because I didn’t want to hear it.

I played at dieting, you know do it for a little while, dabble at it, if you will. It wasn’t until I got to rock bottom and started to fight once again that my friends knew I was serious this time. Don’t think that the temptation isn’t there to go back to bad eating, but I see it and don’t let it conquer me.

A Dusty Diamond,

Kelly

 

