Weight Loss Week 10

How can a 200 or 300+ pound person be invisible?

It’s easier than you think.

As someone who has been 300+ pounds, I know it sounds weird to say invisible. It’s hard for me to admit that I weighed that much at one point, but the more I weighed the more invisible I felt. People tend to avoid eye contact as they don’t really look at you. It’s sad when people try to hide looks of disgust on their faces or the snide comments you hear at buffets, saying they hope there is still food left.

The truth is that people don’t really know what to do and when you are heavy people tell you how funny you are or how great your personality is. I think in the back of your mind at least for me, I always wished people would try to really get to know me. I have an addiction to food, yes I can admit that now, but it doesn’t define who I am.

Being heavy has taught me a valuable lesson though, treat everyone the way you want to be treated and never take for granted what another person may or may not be feeling. No one should feel invisible.

A Dusty Diamond,

Kelly

