What is Endometriosis and why did I classify it under infertility?

Wikipedia describes it as such:

Endometriosis is a gynecological medical condition in which cells from the lining of the uterus (endometrium) appear and flourish outside the uterine cavity, most commonly on the membrane which lines the abdominal cavity. The uterine cavity is lined with endometrial cells, which are under the influence of female hormones. Endometrial-like cells in areas outside the uterus (endometriosis) are influenced by hormonal changes and respond in a way that is similar to the cells found inside the uterus. Symptoms often worsen with the menstrual cycle.

Endometriosis is typically seen during the reproductive years; it has been estimated that endometriosis occurs in roughly 6–10% of women.[1] Symptoms may depend on the site of active endometriosis. Its main but not universal symptom is pelvic pain in various manifestations. Endometriosis is a common finding in women with infertility.[1]

There is no cure for endometriosis, but it can be treated in a variety of ways, including pain medication, hormonal treatments, and surgery.

 

I was eighteen when I was diagnosed with this and told that if I wanted children my husband and I would need to start trying sooner than we had expected. I was twenty-one when I got married and we spent the next three years trying to get pregnant. The thing about Endometriosis is that it really messes with your menstrual cycle, you can have it for months on end. I heard a radio commercial once describing it and this is what it said.

“Picture yourself wrapped in barbwire with a 5lb cinder block laying on your pelvis and this is a little like what Endometriosis feels like.”

I know that women with this have various degrees of pain. I had so much pain for years on end that at 32, I made the decision to have a full hysterectomy. Best choice I ever made but it also means that I am hormone dependent and can’t have more children.  If you are suffering with this ailment, I totally understand what you are going through and hope that they find a cure for it soon.

 

A Dusty Diamond,

Kelly

